My Inevitable (and Final) Review of Inside No. 9

With life being the way it is, this blog has become something that I only do when I really desperately need to talk about a series that I love. As such, it was only ever inevitable that I would write a review of the ninth and final series of my favourite TV show, Inside No. 9. When I first watched the series, I was a sixth form student nursing a love of television that quickly became my passion, as after watching ‘Sardines’ (Series 1, Episode 1) I felt like I had seen how powerful television could be. As a writer and university student, the show became my obsession and the thing that inspired me; diligently watching every episode as it came out and making all the people I love most see as many episodes as possible. Without Inside No. 9, I can almost certainly say that I may not have begun to study television, or indeed have begun to take writing seriously. Consequently, I fear I owe Steve Pemberton and Reece Shearsmith, and all the people that made the show, some sort of debt I could not possibly repay.

Before my introduction gets even longer and more sentimental, I will forge on with my reviews of each episode of series nine of Inside No. 9. For the final time, there are spoilers ahead…

  1. Boo to a Goose

What a way to kick off a series. This episode was such a good piece of social commentary, and blatant in a way not seen in the series before. It’s such a cleverly curated twist as well, I struggled to figure out the ending from the way the episode progressed and then it seemed so obvious when it was revealed. The guest cast is also magnificent as usual, with Mark Bonnar acting suitably cruel and Joel Fry playing ‘suspicious’ wonderfully to conceal the twist. The standout performance for me, though, has to go to Philippa Dunne’s inoffensive nurse – to play a character so timid you sometimes forget she is there and make such good use of the more limited dialogue and screen time requires both skill and humility, it was such a treat to witness. I also have to point out that if being a brilliant actor and writer does not work out for Steve Pemberton, he could have a lucrative career as a drag queen.

  1. The Trolley Problem

Many people hoped for an episode that allowed Pemberton and Shearsmith to take full centre stage, something ‘Bernie Clifton’s Dressing Room’-esque. This is that episode. The characters they take on are both of their strengths: Reece Shearsmith’s Drew appears blatantly troubled and unhinged, but also quietly calculated. Meanwhile, Steve Pemberton plays Blake as unassuming and kindly, allowing the darkness to permeate later in the episode. It is a complete masterclass in acting from the pair, and the ending made me gasp out loud, on the whole an extremely well-constructed episode. 

  1. Mulberry Close

I was extremely excited about this episode from a directing perspective. Filmed entirely through a doorbell camera, Al Campbell uses the space extremely well and the stationary camera allows the performances to shine. It plays on many tropes, such as nosy neighbours and the mysterious new couple, but takes them to create something rather unique. I must add that the episode uses silence well, it would be easy to become reliant on dialogue to drive the episode when the visuals are so minimal, but a common trait in Inside No. 9 scripts is allowing the audience to hear what is not being said. ‘Mulberry Close’ makes for a great example of that. 

  1. Ctrl Alt Esc

Unfortunately for me, I was unable to watch a few of the episodes of this series as they aired, meaning I had to catch up on them at a later date. This involved avoiding spoilers like the plague, and for this episode in particular I thought I had failed, having seen some screen grabs on Twitter (or X, if you prefer, which I do not). Going into the episode, I expected straight horror, but I was misled by the internet and was extremely pleasantly surprised by the ending which shook me in a way for which I was not prepared. Furthermore, the set was extremely detailed and sold the illusion of the escape room very convincingly, especially in contrast to the pared back hospital room set. This provides a very clear piece of symbolism that is only obvious once the premise is fully understood. It’s a great episode with a strong emotional core.

  1. The Curse of the Ninth

The fifth episode of the series is another one I had to catch up on after it aired, and I was provided with extremely mixed reports on its quality. However, I firmly disagree with anyone who believes this to be a weaker episode than the rest of the run because I consider it to be an intelligent foray into gothic horror, occasionally feeling reminiscent of M. R. James’ ghost stories. Potentially, I am biassed, as this episode is directed by the absolutely genius Guillem Morales — a frequent collaborator on Inside No. 9 and my all-time favourite director of the series. Morales once again demonstrates his eye for horror, curating this atmosphere of foreboding by allowing the viewer to find the fear themselves. By avoiding close shots, there is this ever-present sense of something in the background, something that is bigger than any of the acts of the characters on-screen, this threat of the personified curse. Morales uses the space artfully, while the script mingles human motivation with supernatural threat. That shot of the broken neck is pretty impactful, too.

  1. Plodding On

As the final episode of Inside No. 9, I almost feel I should be writing an entire review of this alone. I have heard this episode described as a love letter and there are no more perfect words to describe this finale. It is cameo laden in a way that does not feel gratuitous, sentimental but not saccharine, and self-referential without ego. Finding a satisfying way to end an anthology series must have been no mean feat, and so I feel the meta option of actors returning as themselves at an Inside No. 9 wrap party was a clever way to go. It is difficult to surmise something like this in merely a few words, and if I discussed the episode as I have done with the others I fear I will begin repeating myself. So I will say this: I nearly cried three times while watching it, I have not stopped thinking (or talking) about it since, and I will almost certainly be watching it again after I finish this review.

If you made it to the end of this post, or even just read the first line and got bored, I am extremely grateful to you. I am also extremely grateful for this series and I would like to end this now so I can go back and rewatch it all over again.

~ Caelum

My previous Inside No. 9 reviews:

Short Reviews of Every Single Episode of Inside No. 9 [1/2] (Series 1-3)

Short Reviews of Every Single Episode of Inside No. 9 [2/2] (Series 4-6)

Another Series of Inside No. 9 Just Ended…So I’m Back (Series 7)

The Only Certain Things in Life are Death and my ‘Inside No. 9’ Reviews (Series 8)

Leave a comment