‘This Is Going To Hurt’ Kind of Hurts

When my dad asked why I didn’t become a doctor, I had quite a long list of responses. The most important ones were: hatred of blood; bad at science; generally incompetent; and recently read Adam Kay’s book This Is Going To Hurt. Once I had read that book, I was convinced that I do not have what it takes to work in the NHS and it really upped my level of respect for everyone who chooses to work in such a high-pressure environment. I also knew that This Is Going To Hurt was going to be my new favourite book. It still is. I’ve reread it countless times, along with Twas The Nightshift Before Christmas, and got to see Adam Kay’s live tour. It’s safe to say that I’m something of a fan, so when the TV series based on Kay’s first book was announced I was pretty excited. Well, the first episode was on this week, so here I am.

The first thing I have to bring up is just how lovely Ben Whishaw is as Adam. I don’t think I have to go on about what a brilliant actor he is, but I do want to mention how great the rest of the cast are as well. There’s dialogue and scenes throughout that I recognise from the book, and the whole cast brings the stories to life so effectively. I need to mention the utterly charming work of Rory Fleck Byrne as Harry, Adam’s partner. He comes across as so funny and sweet, though I might just be saying that because I am easily seduced by a nice Irish accent. I also need to mention how much I love seeing a gay relationship on screen and have it not be the cause of the central conflict. While it is likely that there will be some conflict surrounding Adam’s sexuality in the show, as he is shown to not be openly gay at work and with family, the main focus is on the difficult job of an NHS doctor. 

In most circumstances I am critical of a lot of book to screen changes that happen in film or TV adaptations, but I really can’t be with This Is Going To Hurt. It could not be the case that every single section of the book would make it on screen, that’s effectively an audiobook with a visual. That being said, I do think some of the changes made may have come at the cost of the characterisation of Adam. Most notably in the first episode, the preeclampsia patient also being one with ridiculous symptoms that result in TV Adam missing her diagnosis might diminish some of the sympathy viewers have for the character. Moreover, his behaviour towards SHO Shruti has been described by some as off-putting. I wholeheartedly disagree that a less sympathetic Adam makes for a worse viewing experience. Ultimately, the show is giving a painfully realistic view of working in the NHS and one of the integral parts of the real world is that sometimes people behave badly. They make mistakes, they’re rude, they’re dismissive and it’s not good, but it is human. I think that’s what real life Kay was trying to get across here. People are unlikeable, but that does not mean they’re fundamentally bad people, and I think that’s important to remember when watching this show. 

The book was funnier than it was dramatic and the show flips that on its head. The emotional core of the TV show is important, and although the book had its moments of genuinely sad stories, the TV show makes that the focus. I absolutely do not not think this is a bad thing, it’s just different. It’s safe to say that with the praise I have heaped on This Is Going To Hurt throughout this review, I will absolutely be watching the rest of the series. I wasn’t sure how the book would adapt, but it’s done incredibly well, probably due to the presence of real Adam Kay as the writer of the series. I am so excited to see how the show develops, and I might reread the books again for kicks. Might as well get my money’s worth out of all the copies I own. 

~Caelum

Leave a comment